New motivation :)

Hey πŸ™‚

I just started my very own PKU project yesterday. I want to reach levels under 6mg /dl (when being not so very strict during the last time). I want to take blood to check out where I am at the moment – I will let you know as soon as the results are here but I think it won’t be any better than 15mg / dl.

Yesterday I was astonished how much phe is in peas… really. I knew it was one of the vegetables which are richer in protein… I wanted to add some to my noodle soup (together with carrots and mushrooms) but I then decided not to, it would have turned my “supposed to be low protein” meal into 300 mg dinner or something πŸ˜‰

ARGH: Since I ended up eating some peas out of the already opened can I ended up with 352mg for my first very strict day. I’m a bit angry on myself because I couldn’t help eating the peas… If I hadn’t I’d have only 252 mg for yesterday. But anyway. Today, I’ll try and do better. Do you know these kind of situations? What do you do to not make yourself eat such things? Do you have a trick?

By the way, I wanted to share a link to a great and interesting blog – it’s only a little bit about PKU, more about daily life and photography but from a person with PKU who fights the same daily struggles πŸ™‚ http://mdtphoto.wordpress.com/

I told you I ordered the PKU recipe book mentioned below… and yes, it arrived… and it exceeded my expectations… I haven’t tried anything out of it, (I had a really busy week so I only managed to do the necessary and bake a new loaf of PKU bread) but they all sound so delicious.

Before I finish, I want to give you a tipp – have you ever bought chai tea bags? Try out, you can easily create a stylish and sweet beverage out of it. Take one tea bag and a glass. Boil some water and prepare the chai according to its preparation advise. Then, when it’s ready, remove the tea bag, add some low protein and sugar – and ENJOY! It’s very tasty, especially for the Christmas season.

3 thoughts on “New motivation :)

  1. malanyt says:

    OMG Chai Tea is amazing! I love it. I also found some Chai syrup and every now and again for a treat I will make a chai latte using Rice Milk. it’s about 1gram of protien, so don’t so it toooo often

    • pkugirl says:

      oh Chai syrup that sounds very good too haven’t seen that over here yet, but I will watch out. Are you sure, that rice milk is around 50 mg phe per 100ml? Because over here, we do have a lot of different brands of rice milk but they have only 15mg / 100ml so this is quite acceptable πŸ˜‰

      • malanyt says:

        Sorry I meant to say it’s 1gram for 250ml πŸ™‚ I don’t know much about phe, we don’t measure things by phe content, just by protien. Though I know the ratios and such, just don’t use ’em daily

Leave a Reply

