Cupcake Recipe

20130331_133803

Hey everyone,

Many readers asked for the recipe, and here it is, nothing special at all, but try it 🙂

Banana cupcakes (recipe is very old, taken from the book “Eiweißarme Küche” from Milupa, I simply love it because it tastes great and turns out very well every time)

125 g margarine

110g sugar

210 g low protein flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon natron

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon muskat

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

200g bananas

60 ml water

you’ll get 12 cupcakes out of it and one cupcake (without topping) has approximately 12 mg Phe.

190°C baking for 20-25 minutes.

I chose to make a topping with cream cheese, this is higher in phe of course but also in consideration of the calories, you could add only a little bit on each cake, so it won’t be that much, I guess.

100g icing sugar

100g butter

100g cream cheese

If you prefer the lowest phe variant, then just have a look on the internet, you can also easily make a topping with butter and icing sugar only, but I haven’t made this yet so I cannot provide a recipe 🙂

If you want to add colour, I can recommend powder food colouring. I could easily add it until I had the colour I wanted and the topping still kept its consistency. You can also add glitter, I have some by the company “The sparkle range – Rainbow dust”. There are so many different colours available. You can also obtain edible “objects” like those butterflies (edible paper), roses (sugarpaste, bought at the supermarket, but if you want to do it on your own, also the internet provides a great variety of recipes and how-to-dos 😉 and you can also use different sweets to put on top.

I would also be curious for your tips, recipes and toppings 🙂 Please let me know, I will publish the recipe in your name of course!

Love,
Katie xxx

2 thoughts on “Cupcake Recipe

  1. zvia koffer says:

    hello katie my name iz zvia l wood like to know if you new peaple with pku in bangkok tailand we woold like to buy sum food low protein thank you

    • pkugirl says:

      Dear Zvia,

      unfortunately I don’t know anyone with PKU in Thailand, but I will ask on Facebook 🙂 Maybe someone knows someone 🙂

      I’ll let you know.

      Love,
      Katie xxx

Leave a Reply

