I lost track – somehow…

Good Morning everyone…

I’m sad to say that I somehow lost track of PKU diet – again. I’m very frustrated… but full of good intentions. There will be  a change of job by the beginning of October, so I want to start off by tomorrow again, to be in best shape for the new start.

I want to start the traditional way. Writing down and weighting every little bit I’m going to eat. I hope I can make it. I have like 1.000.000 tries behind me. It’s not, that I don’t know what I am doing this for or why. BUT I FIND IT SO HARD AT THE MOMENT. Have you been there? I’ve started the past week twice (!!!) and lost track somewhere during the day because either a colleague brought some cake (never underestimate the power of – bad- thoughts during work ;o) or in the evening when I was to lazy to cook…

Yesterday we went to a wedding (by the way, it was a wonderful day – just want my wedding to be like this…), and our friends did a great effort with organising special food. I had a salad with mushrooms for starter, a pumpkin soup, then I got a rice risotto with mushrooms and a sorbet as dessert. Wow. It really was delicious. I’m always a little torn between feeling like a cheater (because I actually DO eat normal things from time to time at present) and asking for special low protein menue on the other hand. Have you ever felt like this?

Pleeeeeease send me some good thoughts or motivation. I really want to go back to diet, get better levels, but I need to get into this whole strict diet thing deeper again. It’s always everything about making it begin, about the first steps, once I’m into it, it’s much easier, since then I’m proud, I got everything under control, so I won’t spoil my level easily and thoughtlessly.

So in need for your help, so much mess,

Love,

Katie xxx

 

4 thoughts on “I lost track – somehow…

  1. Nicola Reynolds says:

    Hi Katie, nice to see your blog. I sympathise with you and know how you feel. You have to know your limit and know that you can have treats from time to time within your daily protein allowance obviously. I am on track with my PKU diet now and eat lots of fruit, vegetables and special PKU food as well as my protein free formula. I have a tip for you. Keep a book handy to write your daily journal of what you eat. Include everything ie. all that you eat and drink. I also keep it as my daily exercise diary as well, as I am determined to lose a stone in 12 weeks. It is my very own Action Plan. I have already lost 5 1/2 lbs in one week so am well on my way. In some ways I have two targets to meet one, keeping my blood phenylalanine levels low optimum levels are between 400 to 700 micromols which is what they are, and then the second target, to lose some more weight. So it is a balancing act trying to make sure you have enough protein for energy to do the exercise, but not too much as you are not over your daily limit. I have another tip, if you are hungry in the afternoon or in the evening at suppertime, then either have a piece of fruit such as an apple, or maybe a PKU Vitaflo bar they are high energy and give you a quick boost of energy. Believe me it works!!! Good luck on your personal journey. If you have as much determination as me, you WILL succeed!!!

  2. Gwen Kennedy says:

    Yes I certainly have been there feeling like , how do you explain eating normal things so to speak and then on the other hand looking for low protein options … Can be hard to explain as there are the grey lines of what else you have eaten that day…. I too am trying to make the effort to stick to things some days feel tough and some days I fail but right now I just want to keep trying being consistent with it can be hard… Gwen

  3. Jonathan Beaumont says:

    Hi Katie,
    Try writing a plan for the day’s meals. perhaps make the plan then go shopping on the day for those items only. Step by Step you will build yourself back to where you wish to be. (think baby steps). Hope this helps Jon

  4. Lindsey says:

    I know this is an older post… but I am with you. I honestly don’t know how I’ve made it so far in life. I have been on and off diet since I was probably 14. I am trying, but it is difficult bc I none of the pku food or formula is covered here in Oklahoma, so I go to the store and try my hardest to find the lowesst protein things but it doesn’t fill me up. I’m glad I stumbled across your page 🙂 Love all the comments! I guess I’m not so alone

Leave a Reply

