Back on track :)

20140602_131630

 

Dear Readers,

I really need to apologize for not blogging for such a long time. As you know from my last blogpost, I had a tough time with the diet. I was struggeling and couldn’t really get back into it. I really did try it often enough, but there were lots of temptations and I usually gave in 😉 My daily diet was low protein products, taking regularly the formula, but having a lot of high protein things in between which of course pushed the levels high. My highest level which I took in July was 26,9 mg / dl, and I knew, it wouldn’t be good but actually I was shocked that it was such a high one. I got back on track, but I knew I couldn’t keep 100% diet during our honeymoon. (we went to Turkey for two weeks, it was wonderful!)

Now I’m back on the strict diet with 350 Phe, which is not as tough as I thought this time since I got another kind of motivation: I want to prepare for getting pregnant. For 2 weeks now I’m having 350 a day and my levels dropped from 21,5 mg/ dl (first level after the honeymoon) to 11,5mg (from last Saturday). I’m really proud of this progress and excited too, I think I will get the latest result today or tomorrow.

I’d love to have contact to other PKU moms or moms-to-be to share some experiences… This is so exciting 🙂

I also had a wonderful wedding back in May – It was stressful planning everything but it was so worth it and turned out to be a wonderful celebration with our dearest family and friends.

I hope you also had a great summer (can’t believe it, today it’s already the calendaric beginning of autumn, crazy how fast the time passes)..

I promise to blog more often within the next weeks and months, I got a lot of new recipes, ideas, low protein discoveries 🙂

Have a great week…

Love,
Katie xxx

 

3 thoughts on “Back on track :)

  1. Peter Niesen says:

    Hi Katie,Congratulations on your wedding! We did miss your blogs ,so good to see them back soon. Take youre time because with our son having PKU we know how hard it is sometimes to maintain the diet. What i was wondering, does it affect you much when you are not holding on to the diet? Greetings Peter and Gillyan from Holland Date: Mon, 1 Sep 2014 05:56:50 +0000 To: peter.niesen@live.nl

    • pkugirl says:

      Dear Peter, Dear Gillyan,

      thanks for your motivating words… at present it’s not that hard, because I have an aim and I know I don’t have to be that strict in diet forever. 😉

      Well, I don’t feel THAT effect while being on sloppy diet. I guess that is good on one side but also takes its toll cause you don’t feel the urge to get stricter again when you’re feeling ok.

      Some say there’s a lack of concentration (yes, I think I had that too), some say there can be depressions or anxiety problems but I think that’s all very complexe and you might not tell how much of such things is actually caused by high phe levels.

      But one thing I do know that definetely comes with high phe levels is the bad conscience which keeps me going back to a stricter again and again. 🙂

      Great to have you around the blog 🙂 Hope to hear from you soon – questions and comments are always more than welcome 🙂

      Love,
      Katie

  2. Katie – congrats on all the progress you’ve made so far! I’m happy to keep in touch as you take-on the challenge of maternal PKU.

    Best,

    Nicole Merrifield

Leave a Reply

