Pregnancy Preparation

Hello 🙂

As you might have read before, I started with a strict diet in order to plan a pregnancy soon. My last blood level was 9,4mg / dl – that was two weeks ago and I have been dieting since 15th August. So I think it’s a good progress and I guess the blood levels which I took last Saturday will be even better – at least I really hope so.

My current daily intake is 350 Phe / day and I am using the App of the company Mevalia. It’s a great app and very handy, plus I can note everything, I rarely forget my mobile – it was more difficult when using a paper notebook for the daily journal. I’m not yet counting calories, the app cannot count them (I wrote to Mevalia and suggest to add this function..) but I guess I have to start counting real soon.

Is someone of you also preparing pregnancy or is already pregnant?

Love,
Katie

5 thoughts on “Pregnancy Preparation

  1. Thanks for mentioning the Mevalia app. I did not know it existed. Does it really count Phe? Can you use it “offline” (i.e., without Internet access)? Do you know if there is a version available in English?

    • pkugirl says:

      Hello Mireille,

      yes, the app can also be used offline, that’s pretty handy. But as far as I know, there is no English version yet. But I could imagine that the company might have plans to go on the English market with their products – so I will let you know 🙂

      Love,
      Katie xxx

  2. mrsfountaine says:

    Hi Katie,

    I have PKU and have a beautiful 6 month old daughter, named Anastasia. (Her nickname is Anya.) I am working on keeping my levels low now as I would love to get pregnant again soon. My last level was on the 8th of September and it was 2.8mg/dL. I am still breastfeeding Anastasia, so my tolerance is much higher than it was prior to pregnancy. I ate about 300mg prior to pregnancy and now my target is 825mg per day, to stay in range. (Approximately 1/2 of what I was eating at the end of pregnancy.)

    I have an iPhone and use the Dietwell app by Cambrooke to track my phe intake. The app also tracks calories, so that’s great. There are a lot of things I REALLY REALLY REALLY dislike about the app, but it was what I used all through pregnancy, so I would feel lost without it now. I didn’t have much morning sickness, but I was rarely hungry, so I found counting calories was REALLY helpful in keeping my phe level in the target range. Eating definitely felt like a job, during pregnancy. I think keeping track of your calorie intake is a great next step for you! Making sure you get enough calories is so important!
    Wishing you all the best in your journey!!

    Stephanie

  3. Tania Lagacé says:

    Hi Katie,

    I am not planning a pregnancy now but I do have a daughter. She is 2 and a half and doing very well. 🙂 So I did the strict diet and was taking my blood levels twice a week for a while. My pregnancy went very well!!

    Tania

  4. Debbie says:

    Hi Katies,
    My name is Debbie and I live in Arizona. I have PKU and I have 6 beautiful, healthy, intelligent children. None of them have PKU. I was strictly on diet counting all of my phe, weighing and measuring everything for the 10 or so years I was having my children. My youngest is almost 2 and my oldest is 10. If you have any questions about maternal PKU, I can do my best to answer them. Or if any of your readers have any questions, feel free to email me at prvrbs356@hotmail.com.

Leave a Reply

